Public Service…

Posted: November 17, 2010 by uNbReAkAbLe in Uncategorized

Sitting at a bench, observing my workplace, I wondered what if I was really required here. What a disaster it can be even when people who need the transport don’t even actually have time to wait and admire the human improvement from his own feet to wheels and large rooms made up of steel to transport the humans themselves!

And then I got the answer in the question itself. As the normal people, the general ’busy’ ones are busy in themselves getting transported, there are various people trying to disrupt them. And therefore people like me exist. People who unwillingly, are ‘asked’ to be at the wee hours at some important days of high risks.

Most of the days pass just blurting out or rather making new ‘adjectives’ for my boss who was responsible for ‘asking’ me to wake up when I used to sleep. Of course, these words weren’t in his praise! I wondered whether today would be any different!

As I was submerging myself into my own world, a lady, precisely a girl, about 21years of age, came towards me.

“Can I sit here?” she asked watching me stare at her.

“Yeah…of…of course!” I was caught off-guard perhaps.

“Thanks…” she smiled, “…I need to wait for my train. It’ll be here in about 15minutes I suppose.”

“Hmm…you can wait here with that heavy luggage of yours!”

“Oh! Yeah. It IS heavy.” She smiled a bit and then taking a look at her luggage, restrained herself to some music, sounding like something alien, on her mobile.

I got the clue- NOT INTERESTED! Well, who’ll be interested in a guy in a uniform, which is not camouflage, trying to disturb you in the wee hours? Of course, not a girl!

So, I succumbed to my self –embarrassment. But then, I was somehow enjoying making the new ‘adjectives’ and many a times staring at the girl. And she caught me intently gazing her. Her eyes met mine. She looked beautiful, but mad at me now. To which the train came. 15 minutes seem so less to get a proper look at the girl sitting next to you! Or maybe it was the workload making me tired!

Never mind, the train came and the girl stood up. She just went into the steel box!

“Just another day.” As I tried to convince myself about the coming hours to be fun, I noticed that the ‘heavy’ luggage which belonged to the girl was still lying!

‘Is it a bomb? What should I do now? Call the police stupid!..Yes….What ’yes’? You ARE the police!’

My mind was freaking out just when I picked up the luggage and ran into the compartment which the girl went in.

Thinking about the girl, I checked every passenger who either was sitting or for their misfortune, sleeping! Just as I thought I lost her, I heard a familiar voice.

“Hey! Mr. Policeman! Here!” it was the girl.

I was surprised, but I just walked towards her and tried to open my mouth to show my anger.

“you…” to which she replied a much casual manner.

“It is heavy. I know. You can keep it here. Thanks.”

I still was dumbstruck!

“Well. Now that you are done with your job you should go. The train is about to leave.”

“What job? I am a policeman for crying out loud! I don’t pick up luggage!”

“Public service…? Isn’t it?” she just smiled and surprisingly, I smiled back.

I just got back to my bench and found a note left on it. It had a number and it said,

“Thanks for the job you ‘really’ do, policeman.”

Comments
  1. Sahiti says:

    Sweet… =)

Leave a comment